Search Contact
Role of the States

NEFAB is established by the four States: Republic of Estonia, Republic of Finland, Republic of Latvia and Kingdom of Norway. It is based on the NEFAB Agreement, signed June 4 2012 and effective as of December 23 2012. The Agreement sets up the legal basis for NEFAB and is supplemented by agreements and working arrangements between the National Supervisory Authorities and the Air Navigation Service providers of the four FAB states.

The NEFAB Agreement takes into account the need for close cooperation between the four contracting States to ensure its functionality and refers to the NEFAB Feasibility Study Report from 2011 which identified significant benefits by such cooperation. In the Agreement, the States also recognize the importance of continuing close cooperation with Iceland and the Danish-Swedish FAB.

Competent State level authorities are: in Estonia- Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications, and in military matters Ministry of Defence; in Finland- Ministry of Transport and Communications, and in military matters Ministry of Defence; in Latvia- Ministry of Transport, and in military matters Ministry of Defence; and in Norway- Ministry of Transport and Communications, and in military matters Ministry of Defence.

To achieve the objective of NEFAB, the Contracting States commit to cooperate and take appropriate measures in accordance with their national procedures, in particular, in the following domains:

  • Governance of NEFAB
  • Civil-military cooperation
  • Airspace
  • Harmonization of rules and procedures
  • Provision of air navigation services
  • Meteorological services
  • Charging
  • Supervision
  • Performance

For this purpose, a governance structure has been set up to cater for the needs of civil and military stakeholders. Governance at the State level is the NEFAB Council, NEFAB Committees, and the Air Navigation Services Consultative Board (see the Organisation and Governance structure).

The NEFAB Council is the supreme authority, established for the overall governance of NEFAB. All NEFAB States are represented in the Council, chairing it on rotation basis.  The Council is responsible for high level strategies for the development of NEFAB, in particular, in regard to civil and military cooperation, common policies and design for the airspace concerned, harmonised rules and procedures, common safety policies, charging policy, NEFAB performance planning, coordination with adjacent airspace blocks, including efficient interfaces, and other measures in order to meet the commitments of the Contracting States under the NEFAB agreement.

The NEFAB Committees: National Supervisory Authorities Committee, Civil-Military Committee and Financial and Performance Committee are established in order to assist the NEFAB Council.

The Air Navigation Services Consultative Board (ANSCB) is established by the NEFAB Council to ensure the formal consultations with the air navigation service providers on matters relating to the provision of services within NEFAB. The Board is composed of representatives from the NEFAB Council, the National Supervisory Authorities Committee, air navigation service providers and meteorological service providers. In addition, airspace users and representatives of staff associations of the air navigation service providers are invited to attend the ANSCB.